C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

1969 alignment at home

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2016, 02:07 AM
VancouverL71
Racer

Received 42 Likes on 36 Posts
Default 1969 alignment at home

I am complete novice but will attempt an alignment in my garage and would appreciate a few pointers to get me on the way.
Here are the facts: 1969 Big block
I want a factory feel as I will not be on the race track.
I just put in new pscv and ram, new idler arm, new front wheel bearings, new upper and lower ball joints and new tie rod on one side. Car now wonders all over the road.

Just put it up on cement pads so I can access underneath and will shim the car level tomorrow morning and find the centerline with several plumb bobs

I plan to do the following in this order

1. front caster
2. front camber
3. front toe in

4. rear camber
5. rear toe in

I have 2 questions after reading many threads and watching many youtube videos on the alignment.

Firstly, what are the factory specs I am trying to achieve?
Is this correct
front caster 1 degree positive
front camber zero degrees
front toe 1/32" total toe in
rear camber .25 deg negative
rear toe 1/8" total toe in

I have the AIM but can't find this information in it. I beleive the above numbers came from Van Steele but have seen other versions that are very different.

Secondly, how do I measure the caster? The front camber is very easy to understand but I don't understand how you measure the caster. I read that you add shims in the back of your control arms (or decrease in front) to increase positive caster. But how do you measure where you are at. Most posts gloss over that particular point.

Any help would be very much appreciated.
Pete

Old 09-11-2016, 09:17 AM
revitup
Burning Brakes

Received 221 Likes on 186 Posts