C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Recurved my distributor, do these numbers look right?

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2016, 01:45 AM
StDomingos
Instructor

Received 32 Likes on 25 Posts
Default Recurved my distributor, do these numbers look right?

So I've spent weeks reading articles on this forum (and others) about setting ignition timing for performance.

Special thanks to Lars and BarryK for their previous great posts and papers on the subject .

I have never done this type of thing before but I'm doing my best to learn more about these cars and do more stuff myself. I was hoping some of the more experienced members on here would look at my settings and comment on whether it looks good or if it could be improved.

To start with, I have a de-smoged, de-computered '81 with a distributor and carb from a '78 L82. The engine is otherwise stock I believe (I'm not certain about the cam, but if it's been changed it sounds pretty mild).

I run 91 octane gas and live at about 3000' above sea level.

When I swapped out the springs in the distributor I noticed that the bushings seemed quite worn and that the weights really flopped around (I assume they are not supposed to) so I ended up using the weights and bushings in my recurve kit (Mr Gasket 929G).

Once I got everything dialed in this is what I ended up with;

Initial timing of 16* at 625 RPM (idle)
Total timing of 34* "all in" at 2500 RPM (so 18* mechanical advance).
Vacuum advance of 16* (so 50* is the maximum possible advance).

I took readings at various speeds and got the following curve;

625 RPM - 16*
1000 RPM - 20* (4* advanced)
1500 RPM - 25* (9* advanced)
2000 RPM - 29* (13* advanced)
2500 RPM - 34* (16* advanced)
3000 RPM - 34* (16* advanced)