C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Loose timing chain.

Search this Thread

Old 02-12-2017, 12:24 AM
Antz81
Pro

Received 81 Likes on 77 Posts
Default Loose timing chain.

Hi, I was checking my chain earlier, and found that I can rotate the crankshaft by about 7* before any any movement can the seen at the distributor rotor (or valves). I assume this is too much and the chain should be replaced (correct me if I am wrong). Anything else I should replace at the same time? I replaced the balancer not long ago so that should be fine.

Could this also cause a lower than normal manifold vacuum? I'm getting a stable 15-16"
Old 02-12-2017, 12:40 PM
Kirk H
Instructor

Received 36 Likes on 31 Posts

Antz-
I am no expert, but I think this play would be normal because of all the spacing between gears and the chain and sprocket itself. Once the motor is in motion, however, it is not bouncing around because of the forward angular momentum of the engine, kind of like rotating pedals on a bicycle... as long as you keep pushing on the pedals in the direction of rotation, you will have constant contact as needed. However, your chain should not be sloppy, due to stretch. If it has over 100,000 miles on the chain, I would replace it as long as you're in there- they are not that much.
Kirk
Old 02-13-2017, 07:50 AM
leadfoot4
Team Owner

Received 1,343 Likes on 1,094 Posts

If you go with a Cloyes "True Roller" timing set, there should be VERY little slack in the assembly, therefore very little movement in the crank gear, before the distributor starts to rotate.