C3 Tech/Performance V8 Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine, Basic Tech and Maintenance for the C3 Corvette
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Difficulty of swapping a ZZ4 into my 81?

Search this Thread

Old 05-01-2004, 06:01 AM
SharkByte
Le Mans Master

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Difficulty of swapping a ZZ4 into my 81?

I've done pretty much everything else. Rebuilt the rear suspension, new tranny, new interrior, new front suspension and Steeriods just waiting for the time to install... I'm down to paint an a motor to having the 81' the way I want it. My goal is that when the California emmissions inspectors (who will never see my Vette since it stays registered in Arkansas) look under the hood of my car they will think its stock.

I've pretty much settled on the ZZ4 but I have a few questions since I've never done a motor swap before and I want to know what I'm getting myself into before I do it. Will all the stock junk, Air Cleaner, Smog parts, A/C Compressor etc bolt up to a ZZ4 in the stock configuration? Will my stock Valve Covers fit it? Will I be able to close the stock hood with the original Air Cleaner? I'm still considering using the stinger hood and building a functional ram air intake but thats going to be a year or two down the road when I get it painted and the rest of the body work done. How will a ZZ4 effect the operation of the cars computer controlled carb? I may re-jet the original Q-jet but I'm not really sure I'll need to with this motor.