C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

DIY Fiberglass Repair - Lots of Pics

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2007, 06:38 PM
2HorsePower
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default DIY Fiberglass Repair - Lots of Pics

A brief recap for those of you not playing along at home: my car had a mishap last fall involving hubby's zealous driving, bald tires, snap oversteer, and a curb and sustained some fiberglass damage on the fender/hood above the right front tire. He was busy with other projects and I was tired of driving around with duct tape on my fender so I decided to do the bodywork myself (had never done any bodywork before). I studied up on CF, then did the fiberglass and sanding work from Feb-March and we did the wet sanding, painting, and buffing in April.

We initially secured the area with duct tape to prevent further damage until the area could be repaired (His solution - duct tape fixes all) I started by using a utility knife to cut away the frayed/damaged fiberglass followed with a rough sanding job to eliminate loose fiberglass strands. The delamination was a little more extensive than I originally thought.