C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

Location of Horn & Antenna Relays in a 1985 Vett

Search this Thread

Old 12-18-2007, 08:22 PM
Tom Warren
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Location of Horn & Antenna Relays in a 1985 Vett

I am a newbie to this forum and to Corvettes. I have been involved with Little British Cars for a number of years, mainly MGB's but this my first Corvette. I acquired a 1985 Corvette Coupe in a trade a couple of weeks ago and have been trying to sort out all the little problems. I would like to ask if anyone can tell me the location of the Horn Relay and the Antenna Relay. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks , Tom W.
Old 12-18-2007, 08:51 PM
FOURSPEEDVETTE
Safety Car

Received 224 Likes on 156 Posts

Default antenna relay location

I believe that the antenna relay is in the rear where you open the hatch. You will need to remove the plastic trim panel going across the back. It should be near the middle once you remove the panel. If your probem is that the antenna will not raise or lower, you need to replace the power antenna motor.
Old 12-18-2007, 09:37 PM
GIMMESOME
Race Director

The horn relay is behind the DIC (driver information center).The center of your dash above the radio.Welcome to the forum.I have had British cars too,I liked em.Get a service manual,perferably a Helms factory one,but for starters,get anyone you can afford,you will need it.No kidding.Also learn how to search this forum,there's alot of info.Good luck with your new ride.If you can work on MGB's you can work on a Vette.
Old 12-19-2007, 08:42 PM
Tom Warren
2nd Gear

Thanks for the info. I will try to check the horn relay tomorrow. I checked and found the wires were cut to the antenna. I hooked them back together and the motor ran but the mast would not go up and down. I assume that the gears are striped.