C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

1987 Corvette upgrade idea's

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2012, 09:23 PM
1987_Vette
2nd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1987 Corvette upgrade idea's

My mother is the original owner of a 1987 corvette that has been sitting in the garage for the last 10 years she said it's basically mine to work on. I would like to learn something from this experience and hopefully end with a functional car. The car has 62,000 Miles on it. I have a very a limited budget but I do have a source of income and I am willing to save up for something big. Tools are not an issue. Also, the fuel injection system scares me a bit, I have never worked with one before and would need a bit of direction. The car is in pretty good shape it does have flat spots in all four brand new tires but I don't see why that would be a huge issue. If you have any suggestions I would love to hear them. I also have access to all four types of welding equipment (Tig, Mig, Arc/Stic, and Oxygen Acetylene torches) and the skills required to use them.

Thanks a lot,
Jon

Last edited by 1987_Vette; 12-09-2012 at 09:45 PM.
Old 12-09-2012, 09:47 PM
vetteoz
Safety Car

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

http://forums.corvetteforum.com/c4-g...-bolt-ons.html
Old 12-10-2012, 08:54 AM
24695bob
Burning Brakes

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

Hate to tell you this...BUT 10 year old tires are not safe ...and are a major problem waiting to happen and hopefully not at highway speeds......

Replace them BEFORE you do any driving except for a few low speed trips around the block..

Bob G.
Old 12-10-2012, 09:09 AM
Muffin
Race Director
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 9 Likes on 7 Posts

Before you touch the first wrench put your hands on some books. First one should be "Corvette Fuel Injection and Engine Management" by Probst. Learn what you have before you break something. Reread what bob said about tires. The ones you have are time bombs.