C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

1993 C4 brake bleed process?

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2014, 05:56 PM
Bradmarcus54
4th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1993 C4 brake bleed process?

I am 18 years old and am the new owner of a '93 vette, and I'm about to install a new brake booster and master cylinder because the booster has a rip allowing the vacuum to be less effective when braking(very annoying, by the way) and the master cylinder is leaking so I might as well replace that while I have the booster removed. The car has 71,000 miles and both parts are stock so it's about that time to change them out.

My question is, I know I have to bleed the brake system of it's fluid, but I've never done this process before. So what is the best way to bleed the brake fluid, and what is a detailed description of what I need to do when putting brake fluid into the system after installing a new booster and master that came in the mail today?

All advice is greatly appreciated!!
Old 05-20-2014, 04:15 PM
dayle97se
Pro

Received 9 Likes on 4 Posts
C4 of Year Finalist (appearance mods) 2019

install speedbleeders in each of the calipers. makes the process much easier.

If you have the means, do the C5 Z06 brake upgrade.

I used the below write-up as a guide to working on the booster:
http://forums.corvetteforum.com/c4-g...with-pics.html
Old 05-20-2014, 06:53 PM
hooked073
Melting Slicks

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts