C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

It takes a village to replace a rear hub on a 94

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2015, 01:45 PM
auggy
Pro

Received 44 Likes on 35 Posts

Default It takes a village to replace a rear hub on a 94

So here it is March and the weather is cold and I decide to go ahead and sit on a cold garage floor because I'm itch'in to get this hub on the car. So I studied a half dozen you tube flicks, got my parts and tools lined up, and figure I got it down. ----- I am inspired to write this because of a Car and Driver columnist Erza Dyer who comments on how you tube pretty much taught him everything he knows about fixing cars. The replies are pretty funny --- one guy changed his serp. belt but the next morning couldn't walk and had an MRI and a x ray and PT sessions and " enough pain to rethink any ambulatory ambitions", but his wife reminds him " think of all the money you saved". -----Anyway it turns out that you tube left out a couple of issues on my hub job. First, did you know that the 2 brake caliper bolts that GM put on the car ,that they use red loctite, and for a while I could swear that they welded them on!! Now with great effort I got them off and am now thinking what have I gotten myself into since the really fun part is coming up, mainly the 3 torx bolts that I can't even see. After 2 days and every tool in my box and every length pipe ext. and a impact wrench(that only worked on one) I finally got them out. Things that should have taken 5 min. took me 2 hours because of doing things out of order. At least I won't make the same mistakes twice(I hope) when I do the other side maybe a month or so from now. You see, it takes time to recuperate from the frostbite and exhaustion and muscle soreness from laying on that concrete floor and contorting to every which way to get at those torx bolts. I am sore in places that I did not know existed. I think it takes more than a village, maybe the county, or th