C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

94 c4 corvette backfire issue

Search this Thread

Old 03-30-2015, 01:13 PM
Sherod15t
3rd Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 94 c4 corvette backfire issue

This is my first time on any forum so bare with me..
I have a 94 vette with the lt1 and I am having an issue with bogging down real bad when I give it gas and then it will backfire.
I changed the starter as it was terrible.. I changed the air filter, plugs, wires and I cleaned the mass air flow sensor. Other things I've done include a new battery and fuel filter. I am at a loss as to what could be causing the problem. I hope it's not the opti but I think that might be the next thing I have to throw at it. What are your thoughts?
Old 03-30-2015, 04:43 PM
Bandit's C4
Drifting

Received 15 Likes on 11 Posts
Central PA Events Coordinator
St. Jude Donor '12-'13

For the best resolution to isolate your issues; you will need the Factory Service Manual, and retrieve any stored troublecodes stored.
Old 03-30-2015, 06:49 PM
Ozzstar
Pro

Received 256 Likes on 75 Posts

Originally Posted by Sherod15t
I have a 94 vette with the lt1 and I am having an issue with bogging down real bad when I give it gas and then it will backfire.
I changed the starter as it was terrible.. I changed the air filter, plugs, wires and I cleaned the mass air flow sensor. Other things I've done include a new battery and fuel filter. I am at a loss as to what could be causing the problem. I hope it's not the opti but I think that might be the next thing I have to throw at it. What are your thoughts?
Check for trouble codes first. It could be an electrical issue. The codes will help give direction. But to me the car is falling on its face and you have a fuel delivery issue possibly??? When was the last time the fuel filter was replaced? The injectors may be starving. Report back with your findings so we can help you. Mileage?
Old 03-30-2015, 07:01 PM
antfarmer2