Clutch won't disengage consistently

Search this Thread

Old 08-09-2015, 09:50 PM
TheMitch
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Clutch won't disengage consistently

Hi folks,

An odd thing happened on my way home from an out-of-town trip this weekend. Fortunately it happened a mile from home, so I was able to limp the car home.

The clutch on my 1992 LT1 6-speed started acting really odd. At the last couple of stoplights, the clutch pedal felt very loose, and would only disengage the clutch the last 2-3 inches of travel. In the last couple of blocks before my house, it wouldn't disengage at all (despite putting the pedal on the floor) unless I pumped it a couple of times. Just getting it into the garage was an adrenaline-inducing exercise, in which I stalled it twice and actually had to force it out of gear before nearly crashing into the wall because the clutch wouldn't disengage.

Although I'm handy, I'm no clutch expert. It feels like either a linkage or hydraulics issue (assuming the clutch is hydraulically assisted - I have to confess ignorance here). I've thumbed through my FSM but haven't found a clear troubleshooting path.

Has anyone any experience with or knowledge about this type of problem? If so, your input would be appreciated.

Thanks,
Tim
Old 08-09-2015, 10:19 PM
John A. Marker
Le Mans Master

Received 165 Likes on 146 Posts

Sounds like it might be the clutch slave cylinder.
Old 08-10-2015, 02:57 AM
lt4obsesses
Le Mans Master

Received 481 Likes on 261 Posts

First step is to check fluid level. It is under the ECM on the driver's side. To remove the ECM it's a 7mm socket and two screws.

If it's low, and sounds like it should be, then check at the bottom of the bell housing for signs of fluid, this is where the slave leak collects.

If not there, check the floorboard under the clutch pedal. This would be the clutch master leaking. Of course check the lines and connections in between.
Old 08-10-2015, 05:57 AM
ricasso
Pro