C4 General Discussion General C4 Corvette Discussion not covered in Tech

newbie in texas looking for 1st vette

Search this Thread

Old 11-19-2015, 09:35 AM
bjdp
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default newbie in texas looking for 1st vette

like the title says looking for our first vette. It will be momma car but i get to work on it. I am looking for any tips on what to look out for when inspecting these vehicles. I have gained some knowledge snooping around in here but always looking for more.
I am not afraid of work I was an auto tech for 13 years professionally and still do a bit.
Always been a camaro guy but the wife wants a vette and who am i to argue.

found a recently painted 86 at a body shop, motor is out but lower end has been machined and reassembled 030 over heads done just needs assymbled but interior needs redone, i think its priced a bit high, but the fresh motor is a plus in my eyes.

anyways im in austin tx
thanks
Old 11-19-2015, 09:41 AM
enventr
Safety Car

Received 438 Likes on 397 Posts

Originally Posted by bjdp
like the title says looking for our first vette. It will be momma car but i get to work on it. I am looking for any tips on what to look out for when inspecting these vehicles. I have gained some knowledge snooping around in here but always looking for more.
I am not afraid of work I was an auto tech for 13 years professionally and still do a bit.

found a recently painted 86 at a body shop, motor is out but lower end has been machined and reassembled 030 over heads done just needs assymbled but interior needs redone, i think its priced a bit high, but the fresh motor is a plus in my eyes.

anyways im in austin tx
thanks
Always get the latest one that you can afford. They have made some improvements thru the years. Are you looking for HP? Stock LT1 produces 300 hp. LT4 produces 330 hp without modifications. Good luck hunting as there are many deals on the C4
Old 11-19-2015, 09:49 AM
ClaudioC4
Racer

Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts