Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2015, 03:34 PM
Engine MR
Intermediate

Received 14 Likes on 6 Posts
C4 of Year Finalist (stock) 2019
Default Long-time Dutch Corvette fanatic - 1988 updates

Hello all,

I'm an automotive engineer living in the Netherlands. Been active in engineering several North-America market vehicles. Been to the US often as well. As a kid already a real gearhead and that has driven my career choices. A big favorite at the time was the Corvette. Rare to see them in Europe but I remember both C4 and C5 very well.
Collecting many books and scale models but sometimes there are other priorities. So now I'm a 30-something and found it finally time to get a real Corvette.
Target was the early years of the C4. 1985 to 1987 was perfect. Don't like so much the wheels of the 88/89. As original as possible and with an automatic. Automatics are still a bit special here and seem to be just right on any US car.

In the end I found one in Germany. A 1988 with the wheels of an 87. Dark Red Metalic automatic coupe. Delco/Bose, Electronic Temp control, leather base power seats. Very good shape and nothing tampered with. Even seen a recent CarFax.

Little catch: it was still on an exported US title. So instead of importing Germany into Netherlands (easy procedure) it became California into Netherlands. Not impossible but takes a lot of paperwork and time. A US car does not exactly follow the Euro rules in all the lights etc. Luckily it is considered a classic car and then the rules are applied a bit more in my favor. Might make it without modifications. It is still in this proces and so while I now own a Corvette I can't drive it. Patience, patience..

Signed up to this forum as there are so many C4 lovers here. I don't think I have to explain why I like it. May need some tips&tricks to make the final repairs and get it in near showroom order. A list of topics:
-the switches for the driver information panel; suffered a bit in California heat and is slightly warped