C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Can you 'tune' dfco?

Search this Thread

Old 11-29-2014, 09:21 PM
volkswagens-for-life
Melting Slicks

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Can you 'tune' dfco?

I understand what dfco is, but is that an item that's 'tunable'? What gains are to be had by messing with the dfco, if any?

Thanks for answering my random question.
Old 11-30-2014, 02:03 AM
Cliff Harris
Race Director

Received 341 Likes on 312 Posts

The point of DFCO is to increase fuel economy. You could change the vehicle speeds that it cuts in and out, but I don't know what that would do for you.
Old 11-30-2014, 10:42 AM
volkswagens-for-life
Melting Slicks

Well I know some cars use it in strange ways... for instance the new McLaren has the dfco setup so that when you let off the throttle at high speeds it sends a fireball out of the exhaust. I'm sure they did that purely for the exotic "whoa!!" impact, but I'm a total noob at tuning and will never attempt to do so, so I figured I'd ask the pro's.
Old 11-30-2014, 03:48 PM
MrWillys
Drifting

Received 30 Likes on 29 Posts

DFCO is designed to keep the engine from loading up upon deceleration. Some swappers think VSS is not needed, but they quickly find out when the vehicle dies when coming to a stop. I have never found a reason to make adjustment to these values in the constants though.
Old 12-01-2014, 10:52 AM
ANTI VENOM
Melting Slicks

Received 8 Likes on 7 Posts

I have no idea if it is a tuneable parameter but my understanding is that it was used to preserve the cats, reduce emmisions and maybe a small fuel savings. I'm not sure if there is anything to be gained by tweaking it. Interesting though.
Old 12-01-2014, 02:42 PM
mike100
Safety Car

Received 47 Likes on 41 Posts