C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

TPI-VS-Carb..actual dyno results..(long)

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2005, 01:15 AM
sinistervette85
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default TPI-VS-Carb..actual dyno results..(long)

I've been working on my 85 vette now for the past 14 months just experimenting with TPI mods all homedone by myself. I am fortunate enough to work in a machine shop with cnc and welding capabilties, and also have a stock car sponsored by a racing engine shop with engine and a chassis dyno. To make this short I'll skip most all of my prior tests and details and cut right to the final(best) results for my TPI.
Final details are this: 1987 GM base with extensive mods. I used a mill to cut the top side of the intake runners, to siamese them and also enlarge them as much as possible. I then welded alum strips back top of the intake over runners. They are siamesed all the way to1/4" above the injectors. The injectors are 36lb Accels. I then cut the stock runners through the center of each tube and flanges, welded alum strips to the outsides of them creating a single(siamesed) runner out of two. I then proceeded to cut a stock plenum in two halves upper and lower, allowing me to fully machine the inside of the plenum, then welded it back together. I machined my own single blade throttle body from a stock body, this was probably the worst idea of all, but I wanted to use "stock" gm componants to see just how much I could wring out of it.