C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

C4 Headlight Module Problems

Search this Thread

Old 06-08-2009, 09:10 PM
yzfr1mike
Intermediate

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default C4 Headlight Module Problems

Hi - This is the first thread for me, so I apologize for the length in advance. I have been chasing a problem on my headlights for 2 months now.

My car is a 1992 LT1 auto with out the daytime running lights. 2 months ago my right headlight started acting up, (jerking, part way up or down, etc) I rebuilt the motor as done by many of you here. When I test both headlight motors with jumper leads to the battery, both headlights will rotate up and down, depending on the polarity of the jumpers on the 4 pin plug that plugs into the headlight control module. This tells me that the circuit from the module to the motors and the motors are OK.

Here is the problem: after the repair of the right headlight motor, the only headlight that would rotate up/down was the left light. Both of the lights turn on, but the right one won't rotate.

I have the factory service manual (ST-364-92-2) and ran through the headlight module testing charts with the result that the 5 wires going into the module are operating as they are supposed to. In summary:
1. the black ground wire has continuity and low resistance to ground.
2. Both red wires have 12 volts on them all the time.
3. The white wire coming into the module (from the light switch)has 12 volts on it with the headlights off and no voltage with the lights on.
5. The yellow wire has 12 volts on it when the headlight switch is on, none when off.