C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

4+3 Manual Transmission Removal write-up

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2010, 04:22 AM
Swift_Striker
Drifting

Received 12 Likes on 7 Posts

Default 4+3 Manual Transmission Removal write-up

This is my first write-up but after getting so much help from the forum on all my builds I figure it's only fair to give back a bit. Unfortunately I'm a terrible photographer so I bringing a camera to my builds usually passes my mind. I'll take pictures during reassembly and add them to the writeup

Tools Required:
-Jack stands OR a set of ramps OR a lift, the higher the car is the easier it will be.
- 1-2 Jacks
-Transmission jack (optional)
-standard socket set
-breaker bar
-stubby SAE wrench set (regular wrenches will work but make things a bit harder)
-bucket
-paint marker
-tape/sharpie
-Duct Tape.
-PB Blaster (or equivalent penetrating oil)

The first step is to open the hood of the Vette and remove the distributor cap. Mark the wires as you take them off with masking tape and on the cap make sure you at least mark where the 1st cylinder plug wire is connected (the rest can be found using the firing order when reassembling). If you don’t remove the cap then when you’re removing the transmission the engine will swing back and crack the cap. Once that’s done get into the car, put the transmission in neutral and put the parking brake on.

The second step is to raise the car as high as you can, if you have ramps to get the whole car off the ground that’s great, or if you have the room to safely jack the 4 corners up then that works too. When I tackled this project so that I could rebuild my transmission I felt more comfortable to leave the rear wheels on the ground and lift the front of the car high, this was a safety decision as the vette was in a tight space and I did not feel like balancing the car. Be sure to block the rear wheels if you leave the rear on the ground.