C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

What's draining my battery?

Old 05-20-2010, 12:03 AM
Whitecloud
Pro

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default What's draining my battery?

Ok, could it be the alternator. Can the alternator drain a battery? If so, can I check it with a voltmeter or something, and how do I do that? The battery is three years old and has no power. It will not even start the car after I have run the car awhile. It may be the battery is completely shot? Would like to trouble shoot as much as possible. Any help will be greatly appreciated. Oh yeah it's an 88 coupe.

Sidenote: With the help of this forum I just flushed the radiator fluid, changed both hoses, thermostat, serpentine belt, and refilled. Thanks for all your advice and help along the way. I am a horrible mechanic, but I love working on the Vette, especially with the help I receive from the forum. Just one more job and we'll be ready for summer. WC
Old 05-20-2010, 12:25 AM
emcopet
Advanced

Go to a good auto parts store, They will test your battery for free and also see if your alternator is charging. I live in Arizona and 3 years is about normal there. The battery plates swell up and touch each other which causes a short. On the west end of the country there is Kragens, auto zone and a lot more. It is either not holding a charge or the alternator is not charging. There are other possibilities yet but this is where to start. Good luck

Last edited by emcopet; 05-20-2010 at 12:30 AM.
Old 05-20-2010, 12:29 AM
vetteoz
Safety Car

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

Originally Posted by Whitecloud
Ok, could it be the alternator. Can the alternator drain a battery? If so, can I check it with a voltmeter or something, and how do I do that?
What are you engine volts on dash showing when engine running?
Old 05-20-2010, 12:39 AM
pletzvet
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts