C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

LT1 Reoccuring Misfire

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2010, 08:05 AM
jmgtp
Drifting

Received 205 Likes on 164 Posts

Default LT1 Reoccuring Misfire

I’ve been hunting down a misfire in my LT1 for a few months now.
I haven’t accepted that the problem is my opti just yet and this is why:

When the problem started I had a misfire at low rpm under high load. For example 1st gear, clutch fully engaged and under 2000 rpm – give it half throttle and it would misfire a few times, tach would be erratic, and then it would pickup and rev fine/powerfully. It also had an occasional miss in the higher rpm range, north of 5krpm – and this would be under full throttle.

I replaced ignition module with aftermarket unit (yes I did use the correct heat transfer compound) and the coil for an MSD. The problem disappeared for a while. Within 1500 miles it reemerged as a low rpm misfire – same low rpm misfire as described above. Above 2000 rpm there are no issues and it would rev powerfully all the way to the top.