C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Do I have to replace Dual Mass Flywheel

Old 07-28-2008, 03:51 PM
lilspit1
Advanced
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Help Do I have to replace Dual Mass Flywheel

I have a 1994 LT1 with a 6 speed standard transmission.

My clutch has started to slip and I am getting ready to put in a new clutch assembly.

I have been told that I will have to replace my flywheel because dual mass flywheels cannot be turned or resurfaced.

Is this accurate?

If so does anyone have a recommendation for what make and type of flywheel to install?

Should I install a single mass aluminum?

Last edited by lilspit1; 07-28-2008 at 08:40 PM.
Old 07-28-2008, 03:55 PM
StealthLT4
Safety Car

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

I'm far from an expert on the subject, but are you sure you have to replace the flywheel? Can't you just do the clutch?

In case you do need to, I'd go with a lightweight steel flywheel. Much more durable than Al, and the not-so-extreme lightness will greatly help drivability as well.
Old 07-28-2008, 04:22 PM
Strick
Race Director

Received 17 Likes on 17 Posts

If you don't have any upgrades in horsepower, don't bother going to a single mass wheel. You can find new dual mass wheels on flea bay at fair prices. Make sure you need a new dual mass. Check it out using the FSM.
Old 07-28-2008, 04:23 PM
dchildress
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts