C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Switch auxiliary fan to manual control

Search this Thread

Old 07-12-2011, 07:56 AM
mbfan72
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Switch auxiliary fan to manual control

My 87 is co-driven in autocross so it gets a lot of runs. I'd like to cool it off between runs a little quicker. The car came with the heavy duty cooling system but the auxiliary fan has never worked. I'd like to switch it to manual control.

I have the electrical diagnosis manual (but I'm no expert at this) and it appears the auxiliary fan is completely independent of the regular cooling fan, ie it has its own temperature switch and relay and does not feed back to the ECM.

I was thinking of simply placing a switch between the blue wire into the auxiliary fan relay and the red/black wire coming out (once I find out why the fan doesn't run).

Would this cause any issues?
Old 07-12-2011, 08:05 AM
oldalaskaman
Le Mans Master

Received 16 Likes on 12 Posts

no issues, its a pretty common changeover. the temp sender is usually what goes bad. run it thru a relay, I have mine on a switch and also put a resetable 'manual' circut breaker in line . a little overkill, the pusher fan doesnt actually do much , you'ld be better off getting one of the upgrade puller fans that dewitts sells and upgrading to a two row radiator. the dewitts fan is a bit noisy but works well. those two items will pretty much cure your heat issues.

Last edited by oldalaskaman; 07-12-2011 at 08:11 AM.
Old 07-12-2011, 09:09 AM
AGENT 86
Race Director

Received 36 Likes on 32 Posts

Originally Posted by mbfan72
I was thinking of simply placing a switch between the blue wire into the auxiliary fan relay and the red/black wire coming out (once I find out why the fan doesn't run).

Yes !! You would be trying to feed a motor from a low amp circuit, with that plan.