C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

1991 Stock L98 Rebuild Advice

Old 02-20-2012, 11:20 PM
dailo
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default 1991 Stock L98 Rebuild Advice

I am about to replace the transmission on my 91, and thinking while its out it would be a good time to freshen up the engine, I currently have around 70,000 miles. There is a lot of oil mist coming from the breathers, making everything filthy around the engine. Not to mention a few small leaks here and there probably from some gaskets or the oil pressure senders.

Is there a simple rebuild kit for these engines, or would I need to go and get parts piece by piece?

Also, are there any other "upgrades" one would recommend if I am going through this, such as a cam or a rocker change?

Im not a mechanic in this sense, but I am I just looking at changing out rings, or would I need to order both rings and pistons along with the bearings?

Thanks
Old 02-21-2012, 01:34 AM
corvette_bob
Drifting

Received 5 Likes on 4 Posts

Unless you need to bore the cylinders to remove any taper from wear, you shouldn't need to replace your pistons. But in saying that, if you ever plan to use nitrous, get a set of forged pistons, and ALWAYS have your connecting rods reconditioned or replaced. I'm certain kits are available to supply any level of rebuild you want. My thoughts would be to have the block and crank serviced, then order the kit according to what was required to be done to bring the block and crank to a reconditioned state.

I don't know what your ultimate performance goals are, but for a stock rebuild, try this: