C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Tunes, Polished and Ported Questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-16-2012, 03:26 AM
nathanours
Racer

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tunes, Polished and Ported Questions

Hey everyone,

My car is a stock (except for muffler elims and x-pipe) '96 LT1 Auto. I'd like to get a little more performance out of it than I currently am. It has the 2.59 rear ratio. I know upgrading that to the 3s would help, but currently I've got around $500 to put into it. I am relatively new to this so if you could help me learn a little I'd appreciate it.

First of all, I've heard people at a local dyno event tell me that I should have the car tuned to get a nice gain. I live in colorado at 5500-6000 ft altitude and was told I'd get a lot from tuning it better for the thinner air. Is this true? How much would this cost? Does it involve getting some sort of chip or can it be done to the stock computer?

Secondly, I've heard I should port and polish the heads and runners. What exactly does this entail? I assume it enlarges the openings for the air to enter the engine and smooths things out for better flow, but again I am a novice. If I was to have this done how much would it generally cost? How hard would it be for me to pull the heads myself on my car to take to a shop? I've replaced calipers pads and rotors, tore apart door panels to fix regulators and motors, and replaced the valve cover gasket on my 96 camry. This is about the extent of my knowledge though. I do have a set of factory service manuals.

Aside from these two options, what can I do to increase power? I want to keep the car reliable and don't want to get away from NA.

Thanks for the help,

Nathan
Old 12-16-2012, 03:49 AM
James93LT1
Drifting

Received 47 Likes on 42 Posts

http://elliottsportworks.com/

http://www.advancedinduction.com/

http://www.totalengineairflow.com/