C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

SPEC Flywheel loses counterbalance weight.

Search this Thread

Old 02-18-2013, 01:38 AM
merlot566jka
Burning Brakes

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts

Default SPEC Flywheel loses counterbalance weight.

About 3000 miles on it. New engine. Took for break in run. Got a strange sound. Then a bad vibration. Then a god awful sound.

Found no thread locking compound in thread holes. Have contacted spec, awaiting response.

Fixable?

Old 02-18-2013, 03:11 AM
wrj913
Advanced

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

im not very good with car mechanics, but i work on aircraft. the damage on there, especially for something that spins at high speeds, i wouldn't stick that back into a car. I would suggest a new one, and hopefully you still have a warranty on the part with the new engine.
Old 02-18-2013, 09:22 AM
WVZR-1
Team Owner

Received 2,258 Likes on 2,021 Posts

Something else comes to mind here! Your name on the 'wheel so I'm assuming it was supplied to a shop for the balance of an assembly by them. How about the weight was "fine tuned" and NOT secured by them?

I noticed what appears to be material removal around the u-shaped relief on the weight to clear the friction surface hardware in the 2nd snapshot. The damage to the weight in all the other areas is the results of "collision". Just say'n - don't know!
Old 02-18-2013, 12:38 PM
THE 383 admiral
Melting Slicks

Received 199 Likes on 183 Posts

If your rotating was internally ballanced. You would not need that counter weight.
Old 02-18-2013, 03:27 PM
merlot566jka
Burning Brakes

Originally Posted by THE 383 admiral
If your rotating was internally ballanced. You would not need that counter weight.
oh yeah, youre right... investigating
Old 02-18-2013, 04:06 PM
rklessdriver
Safety Car

Received 399 Likes on 262 Posts