C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Very hard brake pedal

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2013, 09:53 AM
george4
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default Very hard brake pedal

’89, 170k miles, I bought the car new. Very hard brake pedal, takes a lot of pressure to stop car. Happened over night, not gradually. No fluid leaks, brake pads, calipers and rotors seem fine. Cannot hear a vacuum leak. I think it is the brake booster that is the original. If I pull the vacuum hose off the booster I can feel substantial vacuum from the hose, I do not have a vacuum gauge to get an exact measurement. No change in the pedal with the vacuum line on or off. Engine runs rough when hose is disconnected. Seems like a fairly straightforward job from the FSM other than the 2 access limited nuts under the dash for the tie rods. I replaced the heater core so I have some experience upside down under the dash. Seems like I might not have to disconnect lines from the Master Cylinder but rather just unbolt it and push out of the way to remove booster, FSM is unclear on that point. FSM has reference to special tools and a procedure for rebuilding the brake booster but I am inclined to just buy a new one.
Read a couple of threads but looking for any comments from anyone who has done the job on an “89 and/or to critique my thought process.
Old 04-30-2013, 10:11 AM
383vett
Race Director

Received 1,541 Likes on 1,042 Posts

It is your booster and you'll have to turn upside down.
Old 04-30-2013, 10:41 AM
Midnight 85
Le Mans Master

Received 53 Likes on 31 Posts
Finalist 2020 C4 of the Year - Modified

And probably use some profanity.
Old 04-30-2013, 10:51 AM
Matatk
Drifting

Received 18 Likes on 17 Posts

Sounds like the booster. That is one of the first jobs I ever did when I bought my 89. I have a thread with pics if you search for it. I recommend removing the seat.