C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

New guy with an l98 in a jaguar and some questions

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2013, 12:54 PM
randal07
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default New guy with an l98 in a jaguar and some questions

My name is randal, I'm new to corvette engines and have some questions. My dad and I recently purchased a 1985 jaguar xj6 that has a tpi 350 conversion from a corvette. We bought the car for $500 with the engine not running, the former owner said he parked the car 10 years ago. The story goes that it started smoking severly so he pulled the heads and had Tim Wilkerson's machine shop completely rebuild them, well after installing the heads he didn't have any oil pressure so he left it parked. We went to look at the car and after talking with the owner he said that he had installed the distributor with everything unplugged and turned the engine over to try to get oil pressure but didn't see any so he stopped. We had the car towed home and I pulled the distributor, put a drill to the pump drive and oil pressure climbed to between 35 and 40 psi. I put the distributor back in, set the timing, flushed the fuel system, and changed the oil and filter and the engine fired instantly with no issues or odd sounds. We drove the car for about a week before it randomly started knocking, smoking and then died. We had it towed home and I tried to bar the engine over by the crank, it turned a couple times and then came to a stop as if the piston had hit a valve. Now time for the questions, how do I identify what year of car this engine came out of? I looked for numbers on the back of the block and all it shows is GM 5.7L. What kind of heads are on the engine? I looked for numbers and couldn't find any that match up and they're aluminum heads. We will be doing a mild rebuild on this engine and I would like to keep the TPI so where is a good place to get performance parts for this engine