C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

new to the C-4's but have a question

Old 10-23-2013, 07:23 AM
Jig A Low
Pro

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new to the C-4's but have a question

Hey Guys,

I'm new to this set of boards, I hang out on the C-3's primarily as I have an '81 resto-mod that I've been working on for about a year now. anyhow.....

I have the oportunity to pick up what looks like a really nice '85, it only has 48,000 original miles on it and the pictures look like that's a true milage, it's in VERY GOOD condition. the only issue that the owner has mentioned is the power antenna doesn't work right all the time (not a biggie). my question is....

what are some of the problem areas that I should be concerned about with this car. it's coming from up north a bit so I know that rust may be an issue but I'm not familiar with these cars (YET) so any advice you can offer would be great.

also, it has a fairly new paint job on it (factory color) due to a "known Primer issue" from the factory, does anyone know anything about that??

thanks a ton. hopefully I'll be in here alot more if the deal works out.
Old 10-23-2013, 09:08 AM
aminnich
Le Mans Master

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts

I never heard of a primer issue before. But if the paint is good that is what matters.
Old 10-23-2013, 02:54 PM
Kevova
Le Mans Master

Received 732 Likes on 683 Posts

It was mostly like delamination of clearcoat. There was a TSB and "Special Policy" for 84-87 model years however it was a widespread problem into the mid 90's. Wasn't as common with european cars. Essentially it is where the clear paint flakes or peels off color coat. The procedure was to strip and repaint car. This "Special Policy" expired well over 10 yrs ago so it unlikely GM is going re-start painting roughly 20 year old cars.
Old 10-23-2013, 03:49 PM
vader86
Team Owner

Received 1,398 Likes on 1,015 Posts
C7 of the Year - Unmodified Finalist 2021