C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Please help with Timing

Search this Thread

Old 05-15-2014, 06:17 AM
CFeria
Instructor

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
Default Please help with Timing

Hi and thanks for taking the time to read about my problems, as I mentioned before I am new to the Corvette world, just bought a 1991 base Corvette, looks good but am now trying to maintain it since it was long neglected by previous owner.

So my problem is I noticed ever since I bought it (2weeks ago) idle was too high like 1500 in park 1000 in drive. checked tps that was good, then when checking timing I did not see the timing mark. Stopped motor then I spun engine by slightly cranking with key so I could see timing mark on damper, marked it with whiteout when I finally found it so it would show easily when shooting timing light at it.

Got to use my distributor wrench for the 3rd time ever! So I loosened the distributor bolt just enough to move dist. with some force when engine is running. OK so now I start the car (previously warmed up) and I go under hood to shoot timing light at damper and hope to see timing mark some where on the timing scale but saw nothing, rechecked it several times and still nothing. Please can some one tell me what is up? Car has 88k miles is in relatively good shape, just a bit neglected. I then was running out of time so I adjusted timing according to how car sounded and was running just for the moment. But I have to fix this and am hoping there is some one here who can point me in the right direction.

Curious also to advance timing you move dist clockwise? and to retard counter clockwise??

FYI... yes I disconnected brown wire w/ blk tracer prior to timing and hooked timing light to plug 1.
Old 05-15-2014, 06:32 AM
WW7
Le Mans Master

Received 398 Likes on 318 Posts