C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

auto cross vett project

Old 06-07-2014, 04:42 PM
jlfx car audio
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default auto cross vett project

Whats up guys as im sure some of you already might know this is my first post and look farward to being part of the interactive community.
I have been a heavy equip mechanic for 13 yrs
car audio& fabrication for almost 20yrs
professional rc car racer for 4yrs (dont laugh till u have raced indoor carpet) lol
For those of you that know about autoX racing bare with me , those that dont its basically 200+- road cones in a parking lot and u want to go as fast as possible thru them without running them over ...lol
so needless to say we hardly get over 40mph in maby one area (avg 25ish) 55-75sec layouts...
And I feel if I can get used to the long nose the vett might be pretty competative .
with the tpi being really tq happy without much rev might just be ok.
My plan: I want to remove all unwanted extra weight so I can maximize acceleration/braking effectiveness.
Current issues: when im driving car and make quick L&R turns it feels like the rear is swaying around but looked at the rear suspention and dont seem to have any bad bushings (tho they are old and will be repaced this winter theirs no wabble in the rear hub with car lifted either. Any help here would be great . What I noticed was it dont exactly have a upper control arm to rear hub ....
I also want to remove the smog and ac componets and ut has the serpentine belt so anyone that has a parts list to remove them and relocate the alt would definately save me some time ...
The overdrive on the 4+3 trans automatically engauges any time the car is started (after warm up) so doing auto cross I know its going to try to engauge as I shift into second when im not paying attention... so anyone know the best way to add a interupter switch to that circuit for at the track?