C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

C4 Steering Wheel Install

Search this Thread

Old 09-01-2014, 09:53 AM
chipsc4
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default C4 Steering Wheel Install

Hi guys, I am fairly new to the C4 scene. I am trying to find out how to install the factory steering wheel on my 87. Its my dads car and he took it off and didnt notice how everything went together. I am puzzled to say the least as to how everything goes, and trying to make sure the telescoping still works. Hes old school and wants it to look factory, and because its his car well I dont have a choice.

Any help or tips would be greatly appreciated
Old 09-01-2014, 10:17 AM
WW7
Le Mans Master

Received 398 Likes on 318 Posts

Open up the PDF below and scroll down 3 pages, it tells you how to reinstall the steering wheel and has pictures of the parts to help......WW
Installing the lock for the telescopic function is trial and error, the best thing is to take the weird looking nut down until it starts to tighten, then back it off about a quarter inch, then install the little locking arm with the 2 screws making sure it's pointing straight up...If it won't engage far enough to lock the telescopic function then you have to turn the nut a little farther clockwise and try again....WW

http://dankai.shawwebspace.ca/asset/...ing_column.pdf

Last edited by WW7; 09-01-2014 at 10:30 AM.
Old 09-01-2014, 10:18 AM
WVZR-1
Team Owner

Received 2,259 Likes on 2,022 Posts

Originally Posted by chipsc4
Hi guys, I am fairly new to the C4 scene. I am trying to find out how to install the factory steering wheel on my 87. Its my dads car and he took it off and didnt notice how everything went together. I am puzzled to say the least as to how everything goes, and trying to make sure the telescoping still works. Hes old school and wants it to look factory, and because its his car well I dont have a choice.