C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

91 L98 Head Stuck

Search this Thread

Old 09-08-2014, 11:00 AM
Dega500
Instructor

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 91 L98 Head Stuck

Hey guys,

I bought a 91 L98 engine with approximately 78,500 miles to use in my 80 model Vette TPI swap. I'm wanting to look things over good and at least replace the seals and gaskets before dropping her in but I can't get the darn cylinder head off. This is my first time working with aluminum heads and I'm just a little afraid to use brute force to try to get it off. I've even tried lifting the engine assembly (just enough to put a little tension on it) while attached to the head with my cherry picker and smacking around on it with a dead blow hammer and it wont budge. There aren't any hidden or secret bolts that aren't obvious that I may be missing are they?

Any suggestions are welcome!

Thanks, Mike
Old 09-08-2014, 11:29 AM
cv67
Team Owner

Received 3,043 Likes on 2,602 Posts
St. Jude Donor '05

Sometimes the bolt near the oil drains down in the corners can be missed
Count how many bolts you have out(should be 17 ea I think)
If youre positive there are none you missed you can stick a prybar down a port and lift up you wont hurt it
Old 09-08-2014, 11:58 AM
Dega500
Instructor

Thanks, I took 17 bolts out of it. I have used pry bars in the ports on iron heads before, just scared to use on aluminum.
Old 09-08-2014, 07:52 PM
Masterspykiller
Instructor

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Default L98 Heads

Wow, I have a 1991 L98 and I removed the heads myself awhile back.

Finding the 17 bolts (yes, exactly) required me to peek down into the end chambers for the last 2, but after those were out, it did not require enormous effort to separate them.