C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

trick to setting l98 idle

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2014, 01:17 PM
volkswagens-for-life
Melting Slicks

Received 3 Likes on 2 Posts
Default trick to setting l98 idle

I know there's a trick and you need to adjust a sensor first. What is this trick?
Old 09-14-2014, 07:21 PM
DUB
Race Director

Received 2,713 Likes on 2,321 Posts

Verify that your Throttle Position Sensor is adjusted to specs. Usually .54 volts (+/- .075 volts)

It all depends if someone got in and messed around with your idle set screw or not.

It is a bit more involved than what you may think...because it is wise to make sure that you have a scanner connected so you can read data when the engine is running. Just turning 'this and that' really does not work in this scenario. I do this for a living and you would NEVER catch me turning anything on a computer controlled engine without being able to verify what I was doing...was doing any good or not.

Trying to tweak your idle may actually be a vacuum leak and other issues that the scanner can aid in identifying (along with some other test equipment)...even though the computer is NOT setting a trouble code.

DUB
Old 09-14-2014, 08:02 PM
Z51breeder
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by DUB
Verify that your Throttle Position Sensor is adjusted to specs. Usually .54 volts (+/- .075 volts)

It all depends if someone got in and messed around with your idle set screw or not.

It is a bit more involved than what you may think...because it is wise to make sure that you have a scanner connected so you can read data when the engine is running. Just turning 'this and that' really does not work in this scenario. I do this for a living and you would NEVER catch me turning anything on a computer controlled engine without being able to verify what I was doing...was doing any good or not.