C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

1985 Corvette NO START

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2014, 11:08 AM
KansasBrad
Cruising

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1985 Corvette NO START

Recently picked up a 1985 Corvette L98 as a Fall / Winter project. I'm a novice and this forum has already helped a great deal in my understanding of these great cars - thank you!

Would like some advice / direction on my no start issue. Initially the vehicle had no fuel pressure at the fuel rail. Replaced the fuel filter, fuel sending unit and fuel pump and now have about 40 psi at the rail.

Picked up a spark tester and observe spark during cranking. Sprayed some starter fluid in the intake and the engine seems to catch momentarily but won't run. Stuck a pin into a couple of the injector connections and my test light seems to flicker during cranking suggesting the injectors are getting a pulse.

It's my understanding from the previous owner that the car sat for years without running but I don't have much background other than that. Consequently I've cleaned the gas take and blew out the fuel lines. I suspect the fuel injectors need cleaning or replacing. Would like to pull the injector caps first to measure resistance but unclear how they come off. I see a metal clip at the injector base, will that release the cap from the injector?

Before I go after the injectors do you suppose Timing might keep it from starting? Also, even though I observe spark at the plugs could the ignition control module be an issue or does spark at the plugs rule that out?

Thank you for any direction / help!
Old 10-08-2014, 11:57 AM
VikingTrad3r
Oil Producer
Support Corvetteforum!

Received 2,263 Likes on 1,447 Posts

Default fpr?

Originally Posted by KansasBrad
Recently picked up a 1985 Corvette L98 as a Fall / Winter project. I'm a novice and this forum has already helped a great deal in my understanding of these great cars - thank you!