C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

How to open fuse box with no knob

Old 11-04-2014, 02:24 PM
Bryce Brown
1st Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default How to open fuse box with no ****

I am new to the Corvette family. have an 1985 Corvette that the courtesy light will not go off. Someone said to remove the fuse. I can see the fuse panel but can't open it. No **** on it as stated. Does anyone know how to open it and what fuse I need to remove?
Thanks!!!!
Old 11-04-2014, 02:27 PM
DanielRicany
Melting Slicks

Received 36 Likes on 34 Posts

There is a switch on the top left of the digital dash board. It pulls out to turn on the head lights. Rotate that switch to the right and see if the lights go out. The doors have a timer for the lights too so you need to wait about a minute or so to see if they go off. The doors have to be closed along with the hatch.

As for the fuse panel. I have to use my finger nails and be pretty aggressive with it to pull it off when the **** pops out. You can try a screw driver or a hook to pop off the fuse panel also.
Old 11-04-2014, 06:38 PM
65Z01
Team Owner

Received 300 Likes on 274 Posts
Cruise-In II Veteran

How to open fuse box with no ****
You can buy a replacement FB **** at one of the Vette vendors.

I would bend a large paper clip, insert into the know hold and pull enough to raise the front edge of the FB cover. Then you can lift it out.

Removing the CTSY/CLK fuse should kill the interior lights.

Last edited by 65Z01; 11-04-2014 at 06:41 PM.
Old 11-05-2014, 12:28 AM
Cliff Harris
Race Director

Received 341 Likes on 312 Posts

Originally Posted by 65Z01
Removing the CTSY/CLK fuse should kill the interior lights.