C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

My Valve Stem Seal replacement

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2014, 11:20 PM
Square
Melting Slicks

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

Default My Valve Stem Seal replacement

Car: Late 1986 Corvette with Aluminum heads

I was asked to post about my valve stem seal replacement, so here it is.

NOTICE:
- I am not a mechanic
- I had my intake manifold off, but having it on and being able to use my distributor as a reference would have made things easier.

Special items I needed before I started:
- Air compressor
- air line to spark plug thread adapter
- Spring compressor
- magnet on a stick

Steps completed before this story begins:
- set engine to Top Dead Center on #1 cylinder
- removed valve covers
- removed all spark plugs
- supplied compressed air to the #1 cylinder
- removed the rocker arms on the #1 cylinder

What I did:

I started by using a socket roughly the diameter of the spring and a hammer to strike the spring in order to make sure it would easily separate from the valve stem and loosen the keepers:

Next, I attached the spring compressor and began compressing the spring while using moderate downward pressure. At some point the spring (and compressor) would drop to the cylinder head and the keepers would be exposed.

With the keepers exposed, I used a magnet on a stick to carefully remove the keepers, using the spring assembly to help contain one while removing the other.

With both keepers removed and carefully put aside, I then removed the spring and compressor and put them aside as a unit. It often took quite a lot of force to remove the spring, and wiggeling the compressor while cussing seemed to be required. There were a few times where I wondered if I was going to break something and just end up buying new heads. Other times the spring would lift out without effort.