C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

horrible rattle

Old 12-14-2014, 11:18 PM
SACWB
6th Gear

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default horrible rattle

1985 4+3 transmission.....48 k odometer

So, Im new to the vette thing. I love the car. Love the transmission. Hate the issues. So what if it leaks. So what if the 4+3 has a mind of its own. But I just cant stand its latest surprise trick its pulling.

For some reason it makes a horrible rattle when its cold and rolling. It sounds like a bolt is bouncing around in the transmission or in the clutch area. It is independent of the rpms, and does it when the engine is off and simply rolling. When on and accelerating the the frequency does not change. Occurs whether the clutch is engaged or not. It sounds like a bolt bouncing around in a thick walled can or maybe the unused gear in the transmission are touching each other while those engaged are doing their jobs appropriately. I can feel it in the shift stick as well. I fear for the life of the car.

The weird thing is.....it goes away once it warms up and the oil temp shows on the dash.

Had the fluids changes everywhere. All were in terrible condition. When they were changed the tech said the std tranny had a fluid level he couldnt touch when he stuck his finger in the drain plug hole. When he pulled the plug out of the overdrive, he said, fluid shot out sideways as if over full or under pressure.

BTW... I changed all of the fluids because it over heated to 300 degrees. Thanks to a mechanic that didnt tighten the radiator cap that extra 1/4 turn. And yes, the engine clattered by the time I got home. It only took a couple of miles to do that by the time I noticed the temp hit 212 degrees. I thought I had more time. Yes, im an idiot. Ill admit it.

So, now the questions...justa couple.