C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Trying to Find rims for 1984 Corvette

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2015, 07:17 PM
Brxndon
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Trying to Find rims for 1984 Corvette

Hey guys so recently I've been looking for help on finding rims for my 1984 corvette.I know that the rims and tires for that year were specially made but I really want to change the rims on the car. I heard something about an adapter but I don't have a lot of knowledge on that. I'm 17 years old and so I'm still learning. Please help thanks guys.
Old 11-12-2015, 07:30 PM
ex-x-fire
Drifting

Received 191 Likes on 150 Posts

84-87 can use the same rims. Go to a 17" rim, selection for them & tires is greater.
The adaptors allow you to run the rims off of 88 up vettes.
Old 11-12-2015, 07:44 PM
Brxndon
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by ex-x-fire
84-87 can use the same rims. Go to a 17" rim, selection for them & tires is greater.
The adaptors allow you to run the rims off of 88 up vettes.
Do I get the adapters with a 1 inch thickness?
Old 11-12-2015, 07:59 PM
pezter22
Racer

Received 21 Likes on 19 Posts

For my '84 I bought some spacers on ebay. I purchased 1.25" thick spacers.

You can find them at the usual Corvette sellers like Ecklers. They're about $200, but you can find them cheaper on ebay. Just search for 1984 Corvette wheel spacer.

Don't buy adapters, but spacers.

http://www.ecklerscorvette.com/corve...1984-1988.html

Last edited by pezter22; 11-12-2015 at 07:59 PM.
Old 11-12-2015, 11:20 PM
LongBeachC4
Racer

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

Probably the best looking rims on a C4 are the ZR-1 rims. Go look at AFS. They have the correct off set for your your car in 17" rims. I run the stagger set and also have a pair of 9.5". The fit is perfect, even with the 11's on the rear. Best of all, no spacers.
http://shop.afswheels.com/ZR1-Wheels_c15.htm