C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Doing your own paint

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2016, 09:52 PM
RayTremblay
Intermediate

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Doing your own paint

OK, So I have been able to get some solid help from thisforum, and I only find it fair that I give a little back. So this thread willdetail my painting adventures on my C4. Keep in mind a few things.
  • I am not a professional painter, I am a Cop. Iam merely a goofball with a paint gun, some time, less experience, and a so so place to paint. This was my first repaint I have ever attempted on a car thatreally mattered to me. My background was dealing with custom choppers (smallareas), a couple jeeps (that were not super important because they were goingin the woods) and a few patrol Cars (not the entire cars, just the black partof the black and white paint scheme). So don’t beat me up too bad if you arereading this and are a professional painter.
  • I am a horrible speller and can’t seem to catchmy own mistakes, so if you are a grammar professor or spell check police, I saysorry in advance, for this thread will frustrate you..lol
For a little background, this project was supposed to be asimple repair of a front bumper for my dad. He wanted to sell the car. It wasobtained by him from a friend that couldn’t see to drive, and he wanted to sellit to pay for this friend’s funeral expenses for sadly his days are numbered. Iagreed to help with this considering I have messed with paint a bit so to myhouse it went.