C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

new member help

Search this Thread

Old 07-10-2016, 09:47 AM
dbergair
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default new member help

hello all.
New member and first time corvette owner. Bought a 85 c4 project and it runs way too rich and wont take throttle. someone has changed the ecm (it has junk yard paint on it) and i dont know if the prom card is the right one. I am a aircraft mechanic by trade and have experience with older v8's. This car has had a tough life but i love it already. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Old 07-10-2016, 11:48 AM
Hooked on Vettes
Melting Slicks

Received 34 Likes on 30 Posts

Originally Posted by dbergair
hello all.
New member and first time corvette owner. Bought a 85 c4 project and it runs way too rich and wont take throttle. someone has changed the ecm (it has junk yard paint on it) and i dont know if the prom card is the right one. I am a aircraft mechanic by trade and have experience with older v8's. This car has had a tough life but i love it already. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks in advance.
1226870 was the original ECM used for a 85.
On the Eprom should be a sticker with some alpha letters on it which identifies what information is in the chip. Since the Eprom can be reprogrammed the only way to determine it hasn't been modified is to compare the information in the chip to an original file. That requires a device like an Eprom reader.

Last edited by Hooked on Vettes; 07-10-2016 at 11:54 AM.
Old 07-11-2016, 09:52 AM
dbergair
Intermediate

thanks hooked on vettes. anyone have experience with a very rich running engine? i am going to check my prom code and go from there. one person suggested the mafs fpr and temp sensor. thanks.
Old 07-11-2016, 10:11 AM
Joe C
Race Director

Received 700 Likes on 589 Posts

hello all.
A&P - - got my license in 1966. (damn -- just realized that was 50 years ago - )