C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

engine wiring harness

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2016, 10:21 AM
dbergair
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default engine wiring harness

Hello all. Me again. How do I know if my 85 has the right engine wiring harness? Mine was all hacked up. I bought one from an 85 with an automatic and my 85 is a manual. I was told they are the same. The color coding at the ECM is different. My friend has the FSM but I wont get my hands on it until friday. My old harness has 7 wires to the trans and the one I bought has only 5. Is there a P/N on the harness somewhere? I posted this question on this forum but I cannot find it. I am not too tech savvy. I appreciate the help and am getting excited to drive this thing.
Old 09-22-2016, 04:18 PM
WVZR-1
Team Owner

Received 2,259 Likes on 2,022 Posts

Here's the original thread you mentioned:

https://www.corvetteforum.com/forums...onversion.html

I mention that '85 only uses the same harness for AT & MT BUT that the ECM harness is different for each. The engine harness is only that harness that plugs into 1/2 of the C100 connector.

I don't know what you're calling "engine harness" but here the actual C100 with the lighting and ENGINE PIN-OUT

Post a snapshot of the harness you bought laid out on a bench with end views of the mating connectors if you can.

Name:  C100 (1).png
Views: 4986
Size:  109.7 KB

Name:  C100 (2).png
Views: 3178
Size:  74.8 KB

Last edited by WVZR-1; 09-22-2016 at 04:54 PM.
Old 09-23-2016, 05:24 AM
WVZR-1
Team Owner

If your harness looks similar to this it's an ECM harness you've bought and this image I believe is for at '85 (A4). The differences are in the car at the connector C260 or C261 (in the second image). Dependent very much on "talent" it's seems likely that the harness as needed could be maybe stripped from the loom. We've done similar on many projects. Can you? Don't know.