C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

1986 Corvette C4 Steering Rack

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2016, 01:18 PM
Ved
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1986 Corvette C4 Steering Rack

Hi Everybody,

I recently bought a 1986 Corvette C4 with the 4+3 manual transmission. The car is in decent condition but needs some work done on it. I've always been interested in working on a car and can now finally get started (although I am new to this).

I'm looking to get a new steering rack for the car and was wondering if there is anyone who could point me to the right one (or to a few that would fit), and perhaps a good supplier?

Best regards to all,

Ved
Old 10-03-2016, 03:39 PM
Need A Vette
Instructor

Received 32 Likes on 28 Posts
Default Rock auto...

[QUOTE=Ved;1593178606]Hi Everybody,

I recently bought a 1986 Corvette C4 with the 4+3 manual transmission. The car is in decent condition but needs some work done on it. I've always been interested in working on a car and can now finally get started (although I am new to this).

I'm looking to get a new steering rack for the car and was wondering if there is anyone who could point me to the right one (or to a few that would fit), and perhaps a good supplier?

Best regards to all,

Ved[/

Check Rock Auto.com. They should have the rack you need, as I've ordered a ton of parts from them.
Old 10-03-2016, 06:17 PM
Ved
Intermediate

Thanks for the advice, I'll check the website out. Much appreciated!
Old 10-03-2016, 07:02 PM
c4cruiser
Team Owner

Received 475 Likes on 422 Posts
NCM Sinkhole Donor

You should also look for a Z51 steering rack. This will provide a little quicker steering and it will bolt right in. It will also be a good idea to replace both outer tie rod ends when you install the new rack. I have had good success with MOOG units.