C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Lsx/4+3 swap

Search this Thread

Old 02-19-2017, 12:56 PM
armybyrd
Drifting

Received 15 Likes on 13 Posts

Default Lsx/4+3 swap

I've had the car for almost ten years. Pic was taken in Baumholder, Germany.
5.3 bought for $440

Finally making some progress.

I've been gathering parts for this swap for several months. Originally I was going to swap my thirdgen firebird but decided I like my '88 Vette more. Finally got the L98 out today. I have most of the parts so far for the 5.3 turbo swap and will be using my 4+3. My '88 had 162k on the original engine and tranny with no issues-even the overdrive worked fine.
Will be using stock 5.3 with eBay head studs, Chinese turbo, deka 60s, ls1 intake, 621 bellhousing, victor reinz mls head gaskets for notched 862s, f-body oil pan, f-body water pump

Last edited by armybyrd; 02-19-2017 at 01:37 PM.
Old 02-19-2017, 02:18 PM
dizwiz24
Race Director

Received 560 Likes on 437 Posts

great build up!

why chinese turbo? chinese auto parts do not have a good reputation for quality

ch
Old 02-19-2017, 03:02 PM
armybyrd
Drifting

Originally Posted by dizwiz24
great build up!

why chinese turbo? chinese auto parts do not have a good reputation for quality

ch

Ive got a few buddies who have done a bunch of lsx swaps and one has a turbo 5.3 in a '80 camaro (pretty much denmahs build) and has been running the setup for years now. Runs 10s in the 1/4. The engine was $440 and the turbo was only $200 so if it blows I'll have a 6.0 ready to swap in. By now just about everything's been done with these lsx swaps and plenty of guys run the Chinese turbos with no major issues.

Last edited by armybyrd; 02-19-2017 at 03:02 PM.
The following users liked this post:
knikula (04-02-2017)
Old 02-20-2017, 07:54 AM
armybyrd
Drifting

Looks weird w/o the exhaust tips.
Old 02-20-2017, 08:06 AM
armybyrd
Drifting