C4 Tech/Performance L98 Corvette and LT1 Corvette Technical Info, Internal Engine, External Engine

Any battery experts here?

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2017, 10:25 PM
racerseks
Burning Brakes

Received 13 Likes on 13 Posts

Default Any battery experts here?

Okay, well I tried to start my car. It's been sitting since November. After two cranks, it died. Sounded like it was real close to catching, but through for the night. Checked my battery with a multimeter, and it reads 11.85v. Seems like it would be enough, but after two cranks, that was it. Any opinions on that?

Also, I went through the old take-the-gill-off procedure, and took the battery out. Man, that's one I have a lot of experience with, LoL...and I am planning to charge it...but here's my question...

It's a Duralast Gold...does not say "maintenance free" anywhere on it, but it does have fill caps on top. (Yes, many say those are just for venting). Seems a lot of people ask this, but no definitive answers, just the 50/50 split I am oh-so-fond of. Anyone know what I should set my charger at? Conventional or Maintenance Free?

Hoping to put it on overnight, and try again tomorrow...

Thanks!
Old 03-24-2017, 10:44 PM
94VenomVette
Racer

Received 17 Likes on 16 Posts

Originally Posted by racerseks
Okay, well I tried to start my car. It's been sitting since November. After two cranks, it died. Sounded like it was real close to catching, but through for the night. Checked my battery with a multimeter, and it reads 11.85v. Seems like it would be enough, but after two cranks, that was it. Any opinions on that?

Also, I went through the old take-the-gill-off procedure, and took the battery out. Man, that's one I have a lot of experience with, LoL...and I am planning to charge it...but here's my question...