C4 ZR-1 Discussion General ZR-1 Corvette Discussion, LT5 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track

Help with coolant leak from transmission cooler line

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2011, 10:13 PM
brentoleary
Intermediate

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Default Help with coolant leak from transmission cooler line

I have a coolant leak in my 1991 ZR1. Looks to be coming from the transmission cooler line where it tees into the upper intake on the passenger side. I noticed a trail down the intake and a puddle in the valley. When I pull on the tee it just pops out with no resistance and coolant runs out.

Does anyone know how the tee should be held in place? I don't see an O-ring, but surely something seals it and keeps it from popping out.

I'd appreciate any insight or links that show an exploded view of the proper assembly. I'm a newbie here - so take it easy on me .
Old 10-06-2011, 01:28 AM
glass slipper
Le Mans Master

Received 394 Likes on 188 Posts

There is no transmission oil cooler on a ZR-1. Try taking a picture of the area you're talking about and maybe we can identify it.
Old 10-06-2011, 08:52 AM
brentoleary
Intermediate

The Tee that goes into the upper intake between the 1st and 2nd set of runners appears to be the culprit, just not sure what to do to secure and seal the tee. It just pulls out with very little force.

Luckily the previous owner has great pics of the car on the web already .
Old 10-06-2011, 11:16 AM
VetteMed
Le Mans Master

Received 215 Likes on 142 Posts

That has nothing to do with the transmission whatsoever. It's simply a coolant line for circulation through the plenum. If the metal fitting is pulling out of the plenum, you probably need to drain the coolant from the cooling system, and sand/prep the mating surface and use epoxy to secure the fitting back in.
Old 10-06-2011, 11:50 AM
brentoleary
Intermediate