C4 ZR-1 Discussion General ZR-1 Corvette Discussion, LT5 Corvette Technical Info, Performance Upgrades, Suspension Setup for Street or Track

1990 ZR-1 oil change help needed

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2016, 11:55 AM
Curt Baclawski
Heel & Toe

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 1990 ZR-1 oil change help needed

Hello,

Non-mechanic - zr1 newbie here

I have a 1990 zr-1 with the lingenfelter 383 package. I am having difficulty reading the dipstick and have decided to just change the oil. I have had the car about 6 months, and have never changed it(prob driven only ~ 200mi), so I figure it's time anyway.

I have a 4 post lift, and I have purchased the oil and filter, but I'm afraid to start. I've read that there are 2 drain plugs, and it needs to drain for a while, but I don't know how to recognize the plugs, and I've read conflicting info on how much oil to add after draining.

Is the a step by step guide anywhere? (I've searched but did not find)

If not, any guidance would be helpful...

Thanks,

Curt
Old 07-17-2016, 02:18 PM
JimZRyd
Melting Slicks

Support Corvetteforum!

Received 72 Likes on 38 Posts
St. Jude Donor '12

Look up anything and everything you may ever want to know about LT5 Maintainance in the Stickys posted at the top of the page.

Let it drain overnight before you take the filter off!

Last edited by JimZRyd; 07-17-2016 at 02:22 PM.
Old 07-17-2016, 02:57 PM
91vettezr1
Drifting

Received 42 Likes on 34 Posts

Originally Posted by Curt Baclawski
Hello,

Non-mechanic - zr1 newbie here

I have a 1990 zr-1 with the lingenfelter 383 package. I am having difficulty reading the dipstick and have decided to just change the oil. I have had the car about 6 months, and have never changed it(prob driven only ~ 200mi), so I figure it's time anyway.