C5 Forced Induction/Nitrous C5 Corvette Turbochargers, Superchargers, Centrifugal, Twin Screw & Roots Blowers, Twin Turbo Kits, Intercoolers, Wet & Dry Nitrous Injection, Meth
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Anyone ever modify there D1SC/P1SC/ with aftermarket impellers for more hp?

Search this Thread

Old 12-29-2011, 03:48 AM
regorih
Drifting

Received 27 Likes on 19 Posts

Default Anyone ever modify there D1SC/P1SC/ with aftermarket impellers for more hp?

I was looking around the web when I came across thishttp://www.superchargerrebuild.com/?page_id=53 site that sells parts to rebuild centrifugal head units such as Prochargers. On their parts list I saw three different impellers and I'm wondering how can these aftermarket parts effect my D1SC head unit?

Anyone try it?
Old 12-30-2011, 09:41 AM
stevieturbo
Melting Slicks

Received 140 Likes on 125 Posts

Whilst some look ok.

Isnt the F1 already a high performance unit ? I'm no expert. But their "billet" impellor for the F1A looks horrific ?
Normally uprated or billet impellors for any centrifugal air pump are a thing of beauty.
And surely for there to be any benefit from a new billet profile, the compressor cover would need to be matched ?
Although a strength upgrade from a billet wheel would be welcomed I guess. Cant see if helping airflow that much though ?

Last edited by stevieturbo; 12-30-2011 at 09:44 AM.
Old 12-30-2011, 10:09 AM
BLOWNBLUEZ06
Tech Contributor

Received 69 Likes on 47 Posts

The way they're advertising P1/D1 impellers makes it seem as if they're one and the same impeller offered.
I know a friend of mine put a billet impeller on his 76mm turbo and the car ran well enough for folks to want to fight him when he told them it was only a 76mm. Problem is that "billet" impeller only says what it's made of. No real idea of how well it's designed or cut without a compressor map. A pair of compressor maps would tell the real story.
Old 12-30-2011, 10:28 AM
stevieturbo
Melting Slicks