C5 Forced Induction/Nitrous C5 Corvette Turbochargers, Superchargers, Centrifugal, Twin Screw & Roots Blowers, Twin Turbo Kits, Intercoolers, Wet & Dry Nitrous Injection, Meth
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Magnacharger coolant problem?

Search this Thread

Old 05-11-2016, 10:59 PM
switchplanner
Burning Brakes

Received 24 Likes on 23 Posts

Default Magnacharger coolant problem?

I have a 2002 Z06 with a Magnacharger supercharger that was installed by Lingenfelter in 2005. I bought the car last year and this is my first blown engine so I'm still learning its functions.
My question concerns the cooling pump/system. The coolant in the tank does not get hot after a decent drive (about 1/2 hour). The hoses from the heat exchanger to the intercooler and from the intercooler to the coolant tank get hot, but the hose from the coolant tank to the coolant pump stays cool. The diagram I have for the system shows this hose as the return hose to the pump and then to the heat exchanger, so I assume it should be the hottest.
In addition to the coolant in the tank being cool, there is no pressure in the tank when I open the cap.
The coolant tank is full so I don't think there is a leak in the system, and the pump seems to run when the engine is running, although it doesn't seem to be moving the coolant.
My first thought is to replace the pump, but that doesn't explain why there is no pressure when I remove the cap. Could the cap be bad also?
Any suggestions or thoughts greatly appreciated.
Sorry for the long read.
Old 05-19-2016, 01:32 PM
M_T_0
Drifting

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts

with the car running and the coolant not hot, cap off of the res. look to see if you have coolant moving in the res. if not you have a flow problem.
on mine it is easy to tell that the coolant is moving just by looking.

if you do not see moving coolant I would think that you have a pump system issue, maybe a clogged or kinked hose?
Old 05-19-2016, 07:48 PM
LedfootLarry
Burning Brakes