Sponsored by:

What does "tubbing" mean?

Search this Thread

Old 11-12-2005, 02:46 PM
Saint_Spinner
Instructor

Received 20 Likes on 17 Posts

Default What does "tubbing" mean?

Sorry, a noob here. I just see that word used a lot. What does it mean? BTW, I tried a search, but search is down.
Old 11-12-2005, 02:54 PM
Y2Kvert4me
Race Director

Received 18 Likes on 15 Posts
CI 6-7-8-9-10 Veteran
St. Jude Donor '03

Tubbing means cutting out the inner rear fenderwells, and moving them inwards to create more room for wider tires (when used on wheels designed specifically for a tubbed application).

You can see some pics of this process here:
https://www.corvetteforum.com/techti...=240&TopicID=1

And here:
https://www.corvetteforum.com/techti...D=36&TopicID=1

Old 11-12-2005, 03:01 PM
vetred
Drifting

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Yes and some times you will chop the axels to keep the monster tires under the car
Old 11-12-2005, 03:04 PM
edensknight
Race Director

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Saint, you now have two great links graciously provided by fellow member Y2Kvert4me above, to help you become more acquainted with this fantastic mod. Trip Mellinger was one of the first C5 enthusiasts to actually post a DIY step by step instructions guide for this particular mod. As you can see, with a little ingenuity, and, appropriate auto body supplies, this mod can be done for the enthusiast who wishes to install 12 inch wide wheels (a strictly positive wheel offset application allowing a wider inner hooped wheel inboard to be installed). Best of luck to you.
Old 11-12-2005, 03:39 PM
Saint_Spinner
Instructor

Originally Posted by Y2Kvert4me
Tubbing means cutting out the inner rear fenderwells, and moving them inwards to create more room for wider tires (when used on wheels designed specifically for a tubbed application).

You can see some pics of this process here:
https://www.corvetteforum.com/techti...=240&TopicID=1

And here:
https://www.corvetteforum.com/techti...D=36&TopicID=1