Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default anyone tow a c5 with a dolly

anyone try towing a c5 with a dolly backwards?i have a motorhome
Old 03-19-2006, 08:26 PM
c4cruiser
Team Owner

Received 475 Likes on 422 Posts
NCM Sinkhole Donor

Raising the rear up on a tow dolly can get the nose so far down that it could very well scrape on the pavement.

Renting or buying a car trailer is the best way. Your motorhome should easily tow the car and trailer.
Old 03-19-2006, 10:40 PM
RobertEarl
Racer

Received 7 Likes on 6 Posts

I tow mine all the time. I have a normal 2 wheel dolly. The trick to getting the vette on the dolly is to get a set of step up ramps. The are only about 1.5 feet long and about 7 inches tall. They slide under the dollies ramps so that it picks the nose of the vette up quick and then onto the ramps. You can get them at a good RV parts dealer. You need them to get a camaro on the dolly also. I have been towing mine for a couple of years with out any trouble. The only bad part is you will be shunned by the washers and waxers here on the forum. If it is not in a fully enclosed and a/c'd trailer, it is just not to be done.
Old 03-20-2006, 04:41 AM
hardtop
Burning Brakes

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Originally Posted by RobertEarl
I tow mine all the time. I have a normal 2 wheel dolly. The trick to getting the vette on the dolly is to get a set of step up ramps. The are only about 1.5 feet long and about 7 inches tall. They slide under the dollies ramps so that it picks the nose of the vette up quick and then onto the ramps. You can get them at a good RV parts dealer. You need them to get a camaro on the dolly also. I have been towing mine for a couple of years with out any trouble. The only bad part is you will be shunned by the washers and waxers here on the forum. If it is not in a fully enclosed and a/c'd trailer, it is just not to be done.
Don't tow it backwards! Very dangerous. especialy if you don't have a steering colum lock.