Sponsored by:

Hub removal

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2012, 08:31 PM
Aerovette
Team Owner

Received 585 Likes on 265 Posts

Default Hub removal

I have had an annoying growl that has gotten progressively worse. I diagnosed it to be the rear hub on the driver's side...ok, I didn't really "diagnose" it. I read a LOT of posts, did the left/right swerve thing, and took a Corvette Technician for a short ride.

I am just getting started and following this write up...

http://www.c5help.com/C5_Rear_Wheel_Bearing.htm

Item 2 reads as follows:

2.) Loosen and remove the axle nut w/ a 34mm Socket and breaker bar. DO NOT USE an impact wrench. If you do and it cross threads, donŐt come complaining to me. The torque required to break this nut will probably be minimal for bearing which have failed.

I am on the verge of snapping a breaker bar in half trying to loosen the nut. I am afraid I will and damage something in the process when me and the bar go flying. So based on the statement I highlighted, I am now wondering if my diagnosis is all wrong.

There is no play in the wheel when wiggled at 12 and 6. I used a pry bar under the tire and still don't feel play. I am wondering if this is a differential bearing and not at the wheel at all.

Any thoughts?

UPDATE: Ok, very daringly, I put the car in gear up in the air. I listened to the differential on both sides with a stethascope. Sounds ok.

I listened to the passenger side spindle with a stethascope and hear just a wooshing and the friction on the pads.
Sounds ok.

Moved to the driver's side an dthe sound is different. Slight rumble on the lower control arm and a rumble at the spindle near the ebrake cable.

Seems the diagnosis is supported. So how do I loosen this nut ? It is NOT recommended that an impact be used.

I have a 4 foot cheater on the breaker and the thing is going to snap !

Last edited by Aerovette; 04-14-2012 at 08:42 PM.
Old 04-14-2012, 08:59 PM
red89c4
Racer

Received 1 Like on 1 Post